JDJ Logo

about us




Members of the Ab-Initio Physics Research Group

We are located in building 6C of MIT, in the condensed matter theory division of the physics department. Our fax number is (617)253-2562.

John D. Joannopoulos

John Joannopoulos

Our research group is headed by John D. Joannopoulos, the Francis Wright Davis Professor of Physics and Director of the Institute for Soldier Nanotechnologies at MIT.

He is a principal investigator for the ab initio physics group within the Research Laboratory for Electronics.

Professor Joannopoulos can be reached in his office, room 6C-343, at (617) 253-4806. You can find out more about him at his RLE web page. He is a member of the National Academy of Sciences, and is also listed as one of the ISI's "Most Highly Cited" scientists. The ISI listing includes his biography and publication list.

MIT Collaborators

We work closely with a number of other faculty and research groups at MIT, a partial list of whom follows :

Prof. Yoel Fink and the Photonic Bandgap Fibers & Devices Group
Room 13-5012 (Materials Science, MIT), (617)258-6113, yoel@mit.edu
Prof. Erich P. Ippen
Room 36-319 (Electrical Engineering, MIT), (617)253-8504, ippen@mit.edu
Prof. Steven G. Johnson
Room 2-388 (Applied Mathematics, MIT), (617)253-4073, stevenj@mit.edu
Prof. Marin Soljacic
Room 6C-419 (Physics, MIT), (617)253-2467, soljacic@mit.edu
Prof. Lionel C. Kimerling and the Electronic Materials Research Group
Room 13-4118 (Materials Science, MIT), (617) 253-5383, lckim@mit.edu
Prof. Leslie A. Kolodziejski and the Materials and Fabrication Group
Room 13-3065 (Electrical Engineering, MIT), (617) 253-6868, lak@mtl.mit.edu
Prof. Henry I. Smith and the NanoStructures Laboratory
Room 39-427 (Electrical Engineering, MIT), (617)253-6865, hismith@nano.mit.edu


The other members of our group are graduate students, post-doctoral associates and research scientists at MIT.

Dr. Aristeidis Karalis
Room 8-313, (617)253-6133, aristos@mit.edu
Jeongwon Lee
Room NE47-579, (617)324-6443, jeongwon@mit.edu
Dr. Ognjen Ilic
Room 8-315, (617)452-4459, ilico@mit.edu
Bo Zhen
Room 8-315, (617)225-8119, bozhen@mit.edu
Dr. Ling Lu
Room 6C-417, (617)253-2895, linglu@mit.edu

Graduated Group Members

Dr. Alex McCauley (Ph.D. 2011)
WiTricity Corporation, mccauley@mit.edu
Prof. Alejandro Rodriguez (Ph.D. 2010)
Assistant Professor of Electrical Engineering, arod@princeton.edu
Dr. Michael Ghebrebrhan (Ph.D. 2010)
NSRDEC contractor, michael.ghebrebrhan.ctr@us.army.mil
Dr. Ardavan Oskooi (Sc.D. 2010)
Founder & CEO, Simpetus
Prof. Peter Bermel (Ph.D. 2007)
Assistant Professor of Electrical Engineering, pbermel@purdue.edu
Dr. David Chan (Ph.D. 2006)
Dr. Matthew Evans (Ph.D. 2005)
Dr. Mihai Ibanescu (Ph.D. 2005)
Omni-Guide Communications, mihai.ibanescu@alum.mit.edu
Prof. Kerwyn Casey Huang (Ph.D. 2004)
Assistant Professor of Bioengineering, Stanford University, kchuang@stanford.edu
Dr. Chiyan Luo (Ph.D. 2004)
Prof. Michelle L. Povinelli (Ph.D. 2004)
Assistant Professor of Electrical Engineering, University of Southern California, povinell@usc.edu
Prof. Evan J. Reed (Ph.D. 2003)
Assistant Professor of Materials Science and Engineering, evanreed@stanford.edu
Prof. Steven G. Johnson (Ph.D. 2001)
Associate Professor of Applied Mathematics, MIT, stevenj@math.mit.edu
Prof. Maksim Skorobogatiy (Ph.D. 2001)
Département de génie physique, École Polytechnique de Montréal, maksim.skorobogatiy@polymtl.ca.
Dr. Tairan Wang (Ph.D. 2001)
Omni-Guide Communications, tairan@alum.mit.edu
Prof. Shanhui Fan (Ph.D. 1998)
Associate Professor, Electrical Engineering, Stanford University, shanhfan@alum.mit.edu
Dr. Attila Mekis (Ph.D. 2000)
Luxtera, amekis@luxtera.com
Dr. Ickjin Park (Ph.D. 1999)
Division of Engineering and Applied Sciences, Harvard University, ijpark@cmts.harvard.edu
Prof. Rodrigo B. Capaz (Ph.D. 1996)
Instituto De Fisica, UFRJ, capaz@if.ufrj.br
Dr. Jerry C. Chen (Ph.D. 1996)
Tellabs Research Center, jerry.c.chen@tellabs.com
Prof. Kyeongjae Cho (Ph.D. 1994)
Dept. of Physics, University of Texas at Dallas kjcho@utdallas.edu
Dr. Karl D. Brommer (M.S. 1988, Ph.D. 1993)
Engineering Fellow and Technical Director of Space Systems and Electronics at BAE SYSTEMS, karl.d.brommer@baesystems.com
Founder, Mountain Dynamics, Inc.
Prof. Tomas A. Arias (Ph.D. 1992)
Physics Dept, Cornell, muchomas@ccmr.cornell.edu
Prof. Andrew M. Rappe (Ph.D. 1992)
Chemistry Dept, UPenn, rappe@a.chem.upenn.edu
Dr. Jing Wang (Ph.D. 1992)
Dr. Mark F. Needels (Sc.D. 1990)
Dr. Eugen Tarnow (Ph.D. 1989)
Prof. Efthimios Kaxiras (Ph.D. 1987)
Physics Dept, Harvard, kaxiras@cmtek.harvard.edu
Prof. Karin M. Rabe (Ph.D. 1987)
Physics Dept, Rutgers, rabe@physics.rutgers.edu
Prof. Yaneer Bar-Yam (Ph.D. 1984)
President, New England Complex Systems Institute
Prof. Dung-Hai Lee (Ph.D. 1982)
Physics Dept, Berkeley, dhlee@physics.berkeley.edu
Prof. A. Douglas Stone (Ph.D. 1982)
Physics Dept, Yale, douglas.stone@yale.edu
Dr. Douglas C. Allan (Ph.D. 82)
Corning Inc, allandc@corning.com
Prof. David H. Vanderbilt (Ph.D. 1981)
Dept of Physics & Astronomy, Rutgers U, dhv@physics.rutgers.edu
Prof. William B. Pollard (Ph.D. 1979)
Physics Dept, Valdosta State U, wpollard@valdosta.edu
Prof. Robert B. Laughlin (Ph.D. 1979)
Physics Dept, Stanford, rbl@large.stanford.edu
George W. Doerre (M.S. 1979)
Prof. Eugene J. Mele (Ph.D. 1978)
Physics Dept, UPenn, mele@mele.physics.upenn.edu
Gabriel A. Aeppli (M.S. 1978)
Thomas Starkloff (M.S. 1977)

Former Postdoctoral Fellows and Other Researchers

Dr. Jorge Bravo-Abad
Condensed Matter Theory Group, Autonomous University of Madrid (Spain), jorge.bravo@uam.es
Dr. Bjorn Maes
Photonics Research Group, Ghent University (Belgium), bjorn.maes@ugent.be
Dr. Elefterios "Lefteris" Lidorikis
Assistant Professor, Department of Materials Science, University of Ioannina (Greece), elidorik@cc.uoi.gr
Dr. Xunya Jiang
Shanghai Institute of Microsystem and Information Technology, xyjiang@itsvr.sim.ac.cn
Dr. David Roundy
Physics Department, Oregon State University, roundyd@physics.oregonstate.edu
Dr. ir. Peter Bienstman
Photonics Research Group, Ghent University
Dr. Nikolaj Moll
IBM Research, Zurich, moll@alum.mit.edu
Dr. Pierre Villeneuve (research scientist).
CEO, Clarendon Photonics, villeneuve@clarendonphotonics.com
Dr. Susanne Mirbt
Dr. Oscar Alerhand
Dr. Robert D. Meade
Raag Airan
Email us with your coordinates if we've inadvertantly left you out. Us young'uns don't know the past group roster very well. Step forward from the mists of antiquity!

Mailing Address

The mailing address for any of the current members is found by substituting the appropriate room number into:
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Room [room number]
Cambridge, MA 02139